The Legislative Friend of Housing Award recognizes a current legislator for their contributions to advancing the affordable housing industry in Iowa through legislation or lobbying efforts. Eligible nominees are those who have performed fab service and made significant contributions of time and effort in furthering affordable housing in Iowa.

This award recognizes a legislator who has actively participated in committees involving affordable housing legislation, has developed strong grass roots initiatives and makes improving the lives of Iowans through affordable housing an integral part of his/her legislative work.


Past winners:

2022: Representative Brian Lohse





2021: Senator Dan Dawson





2020: Senator Mark Lofgren





2019: Senator Liz Mathis




2018: No Winner


2017: Senator Roby Smith





2016: Senator Amanda Ragan





2015: Representative Tom Sands


2014: Representative Dave Heaton


2013: Senator Robert Dvorsky


2012: Senator Matt McCoy