In March of 2008 the state of Iowa lost a great friend and exceptional community development advocate with the untimely passing of Kay Anderson. A resident of LeMars and long-time member of the IFA Board of Directors, Kay is remembered for her kindness to others and unwavering commitment to the success of programs that help improve the lives of Iowans.

The Kay Anderson Friend of Iowa Award has rightfully gained a prestigious reputation at the HousingIowa Conference. Past award winners have truly encompassed Kay’s awesome qualities and exceptional record of service.


Past winners:

2022: Crissy Canganelli, Shelter House





2021: Stephanie Murphy, Neighborhood Finance Corporation





2020: Sister Mary Ann Vogel, Congregation of the Humility of Mary



2019: Jeannie Kingery, Northern Lights Alliance for the Homeless

2018: Kim Gordon, Affordable Housing Network. Inc





2017: Tracey Achenbach, East Central Iowa Housing Trust Fund, Housing Trust Fund of Linn County, Housing Trust Fund of Johnson County



2016: Maryann Dennis, The Housing Fellowship





2015: Carrie Dunnwald, Cedar Valley Friends of the Family


2014: Jim Ernst, Four Oaks


2013: Susan McGuire, Center for Siouxland


2012: Steven C. Anderson, Hawkeye Title & Settlement


2011: Dr. Ida Johnson, United Neighbors, Inc.


2010: Kris Saddoris, Conlin Properties


2009: Joseph O'Hern, Fannie Mae, Iowa Finance Authority, City of Cedar Rapids


2008: Robert Bauman, Homeward Inc. | Butler County Rural Electric Cooperative